How much is that doggy in the window?

Life is busy. Life with kids is even busier. Life lately has been just constant forward motion, no time to sit and think. The kids dance recital was last weekend. I used to be able to sit and just watch kids dance for 3 hours, but I can’t even do that anymore. Now I work backstage. More endless running, although it does help the night go faster. 

As if last week wasn’t busy enough with mini dress rehearsals in the studio, the final dress rehearsal on stage and then finally the recital, we decided to adopt a dog from the City of Buffalo Animal Shelter.  Knowing how busy we were during the week, we arranged for Koda’s neutering to be done on Friday and to pick him up Saturday morning. Friday afternoon when I called the vet to find out how Koda was feeling after his surgery the vet comes on the phone. He couldn’t do the surgery because Koda had a high fever, he would have to be on antibiotics and I have to reschedule surgery. Why does he have a high fever?  Oh, because of the Kennel Cough. Thanks CBAS, for letting me know ahead of time that I’d be bringing a highly contagious sick dog home, especially since you knew I already have a dog at home. But wait, there’s more. He has a condition called Entropion, where the lower lid rolls in and the lashes rub against the cornea. So now I get to pay for another surgery on top of the neutering. Again, thanks for sharing this information with me CBAS! 

Life since Saturday has been a juggling act of trying to keep the two dogs separated and spending enough time with each of them so neither of them feels neglected. We’ve been living with gates blocking all major hallways and doorways in our house. It’s an inconvenience, yes, but Koda is such a sweet dog.  He’s so good, cuddly, and happy and we love him so much already. 

We can definitely put up with an inconvenience for a couple weeks, but I do have a lot of negative feelings towards the CBAS right now. I felt rushed to adopt Koda and I definitely feel that information was withheld from me. I’m not sure whether it was done purposely or in their rush to get him adopted they just forgot to mention everything. I’m just not sure I would recommend this group to anyone looking to adopt. I would definitely share my experience with the CBAS with anyone that I know is thinking of going there, just so they can at least be prepared and know to question everything.

 

One thought on “How much is that doggy in the window?

  1. […] How much is that doggy in the window? […]

Leave a Reply

