Have a Little Faith in Me

I have decided to do something that some people might call me crazy for. Other people might call me brave or smart. I call myself curious. I have decided to go for genetic counseling because I have a strong family history of cancer. I also work for a cancer hospital so it is hard to block out of ignore my history. Not that it would be easy to forget the death of my parents at young ages, but it would be harder for me to go into denial about my future.
I have an appointment with the counselor this morning. In a half hour to be exact. I am nervous and hopeful at the same time. I really have no idea what to expect. I think it could almost go either way really, just from the little bit that I do know about cancer. I expect that either she will say I am at high risk for Ovarian and Breast because they are related cancers and there is history of both (my grandma died of breast and my aunt died of ovarian), or that she will say I’m not high risk because there are a few other types of cancer in the rest of my family that do not necessarily relate to each other. I feel it is important to note that this is all on my mother’s side, except for my dad.
Well, I should probably get going. I really just wanted to get this off my chest; I haven’t talked about this with anyone except my husband, who keeps asking me a bunch of “what if” questions that I won’t be able to answer until after my appointment.
So, I’ll write an update sometime today after my appointment. I wouldn’t want to keep the 2 people who might read this in suspense. 🙂

Have a great morning folks!

Leave a Reply

