She Works Hard for the Money

I think I need to step up my job hunting game. This fact really sucks because I actually do love where I work. I just hate that I’m stuck.

I don’t hate my job, I hate the atmosphere. I hate that no matter what I do, I’m only looked at as “the girl in the office.” I mean, I worked full time, raised 4 kids and put myself through school. I’m not saying I’m superwoman, I’m saying that I have more skills and talents than spreadsheets and mail merges. But it’s not just that, no one in my office trusts each other. Everyone is out for themselves. There’s no teamwork. There’s belittling. No one listens. It’s just a hateful environment.  And I am grossly underpaid.

I think I procrastinate looking for jobs though because I honestly do love where I work. I love the cause; it is very dear to my heart. Not to mention I’ve been here for 9 1/2 years and all my friends are here. And honestly I think if I was paid a little better then I wouldn’t be looking for a job at all. Sometimes I even think maybe I should just do a little prostitution on the side to make up for what I should be making, then I could stay and put up with all the crap.  JUST KIDDING! I’d never be successful at that. I’d always feel sorry for people and want to give them a break. Ha, I’m just kidding again. Just part of my sense of humor that I rely on to get me through the day.

Speaking of getting through the day, I should really stop writing and start mine.

Leave a Reply

