Everything Old is New Again

There’s nothing like a tragedy to bring forth someone’s underlying feelings. OK, maybe it wasn’t exactly tragedy, but it was a sure blow to my economic well being, thus creating a huge amount of stress and generally bummed feelings. And since a major source of fighting between couples is finances, I expected the worse. 
To my complete surprise, the harsh words and inevitable fighting and arguing never commenced. Instead there were words of encouragement, understanding, and even flowers. 
It’s kind of hard to really describe what I’ve been truly feeling the past two weeks. There’s definitely been anger, sadness, depression, etc. but there’s also been feelings of guilt, annoyance, and yes–appreciation. 
Appreciation that although it sucked, it was just the motivation I needed to get my ass moving just a little bit harder. Appreciation for my husband who proved that actions do speak louder than words sometimes. He’s been extremely supportive and understanding. Two words that I don’t always associate with him. He even went so far as to say “I love you” last night. Not only did he say it, but he said it first! HE said it. NOT in response to me, but just to say it. I’m not sure of when the last time that happened. He still won’t cuddle–I’ve been trying. But I still have hope. 
Could this be the start of something old turning new again? Or is it going to be short lived? I guess only time will tell. 

One thought on “Everything Old is New Again

  1. Sarah says:

    OMG OMG OMG!!

Leave a Reply

