True Colors

Everyone has struggles in life. Everyone faces challenges. Some people face things that are monumental and some people face things that only feel monumental.

I go through my bouts of feeling sad and wonder if I made the right decisions in life. I fight with my husband at times and wonder why we are still married. These times are not an everyday occurrence, by any means. In fact, it has been a few years since the last big blowout fight we’ve had.  This is a good thing.

My problem is I am too emotional. I think with my heart. My feelings get hurt too easily. We are comfortable with each other. We just live the status quo of life. Day after day is all the same. Wake up, go to work, come home, eat, take kids to dance or soccer or hockey or wherever, watch some TV and go to bed. Every. Single. Day. Nothing really varies except the activity in which we are driving the kids to.  I’m getting bored with this and I take it personally when I try to plan a date night in which he has no desire to go on. The kids are his life, the center of his universe. I feel like I’m just along for the ride.

So why don’t I say anything to him about how I feel? Because I don’t necessarily want to disrupt the status quo, either. I have a good life–a job, a house, my family, my dogs, food to eat, etc. I don’t need to cause waves when there is no storm. Just because I’m bored and feeling like a third wheel in my family doesn’t mean I should disrupt everyone else’s life.

 

 

Struggle

One thought on “True Colors

  1. Laurie says:

    Your feelings matter.

Leave a Reply

